History of INA
Past Presidents
MEP and DSA Honorees

Iowa Newspaper Facts / Readership Info

Find An Iowa Newspaper
Search by city
Search by map
Search by county
Search daily / weekly

Affiliate Members
Associate Members
Academic Members

Boards And Committees
Board Members
Committee Members
Board minutes
Board agenda
Committee minutes

Convention and Trade Show

Seminars and Webinars

View Jobs
Post Resumes

Iowa Newspaper Foundation

Freedom Of Information
Iowa Public Information Board

Press Releases
Get your news published
INA Press Release service

INA All-State Program
Ed Thomas Mr. Football Award

Read Iowa's Public Notices

Advertising Opportunities

Links to Iowa Newspapers

INA Staff
Who to Contact

Order An Iowa Newspaper Directory


All-State Team Selection

Iowa sports writers annually choose the state’s best high school athletes to be members of the elite INA All-State teams in football, girls basketball, boys basketball and baseball. The selection results are made available to all member newspapers and awards are sent to the honored athletes.

INA looks to high school coaches and Iowa sports writers to nominate deserving athletes. If you know of a student athlete who deserves all-state recognition, please take the time to nominate them. Get your high school coaches involved too!

To nominate players, click here. You will need to enter the username and password information that you received from INA.

Deadline for nominations is Wednesday, July 29, 2015

INA also relies on sports writers to make up the All-State selection committees. Coaches are asked to participate to give insight, but are not allowed to vote in the team selection process.

The next all-state meeting, for 2015 baseball, is coming up. The selection meeting will be Sunday, August 2 at 9:30 a.m. **Please note this meeting time is earlier than prior meetings.** The meeting will be held at the Iowa Newspaper Association office at 319 E. 5th Street in Des Moines.

A press release of INA All-State baseball teams and the team captains will be made available to INA newspapers on August 3. Attendees to the meeting receive All-State team lists at the meeting but are asked to keep them private until the release date, which is August 4.

If you are interested in participating at an upcoming selection meeting please contact Jana Shepherd at 515-244-2145 ext. 159 or email jshepherd@inanews.com.

Thank you!

Past All-State Teams:
2015 boys basketball
2015 girls basketball

2014 football
2014 baseball
2014 boys basketball
2014 girls basketball
2013 football
2013 baseball
2013 boys basketball
2013 girls basketball
2012 football
2012 baseball
2012 boys basketball
2012 girls basketball
2011 baseball
2011 boys basketball
2011 girls basketball
2010 football
2010 baseball
2010 boys basketball
2010 girls basketball
2009 football
2009 baseball
2009 boys basketball
2009 girls basketball
2008 football
2008 baseball
2008 boys basketball
2008 girls basketball
2007 football
2007 baseball
2007 boys basketball
2007 girls basketball
2006 football
2006 baseball
2006 boys basketball
2006 girls basketball
Pre-2006 boys basketball
Pre-2006 girls basketball
Pre-2006 baseball
Pre-2006 football

Those listed above are the only All-State team records that INA has. If the records you are seeking cannot be found here, please consult your local newspaper or library archives.

Ed Thomas Mr. Football Award

In early 2010, the Iowa Newspaper Association announced the creation of the Ed Thomas Mr. Football Award. In creating this award, the INA’s goal was to honor long-time Aplington-Parkersburg football coach Ed Thomas, by recognizing a high school football player who has demonstrated excellent performance on the football field and exemplary character in all aspects of life. To find out more, click here.


319 E. 5th Street, Des Moines, IA 50309 | Phone: 515.244.2145, Fax: 515.244.4855