Iowa Newspaper Foundation

Support the INF
Pages for 21st Century
Planned Giving
Matching Gifts Programs
Legacy Walk Brick Project
Heritage Club
Individual Memberships
Contribute Now

Forward Newsletter

Annual Report

Newspaper in Education

How-To News Writer

Seminars & Training

Next Generation of Journalists


Leo Mores Newspaper Leadership Institute

Healthy Conversations

Thinking about your future?

Get Covered!

Cool, calm and college-bound

Golf Tournament

Business Horizons High School Media Camp


INF awards nine scholarships for 2015-16


Nine Iowa students have been selected as recipients of Iowa Newspaper Foundation scholarships for the 2015-2016 academic year.  The scholarships are awarded to students preparing for a career in the newspaper industry.

This year’s awards and recipients include-

Carter Pitts/Le Mars Daily Sentinel Scholarship, $500:  Anne Rogers will graduate from Johnston Senior High School and attend the University of Missouri.

Carter Pitts Scholarship Endowment Award, $500: Mikaela Livengood from Clarion-Goldfield-Dows High School will attend Morningside College.

Iowa Journalism Institute Scholarship, $1,000:  Austin Anderson plans to attend Iowa State University after graduating from Cedar Falls High School.

David W. Belin Scholarship, $1,000: Following graduation from East Marshall Senior High School, Jacob Parks will attend Iowa State University.

Iowa Newspaper Foundation Scholarship, $500:  Julia Schmidt will graduate from Dubuque Senior High School and attend the University of Northern Iowa in the fall.

E. K. Shaw Scholarship, $1,200:  A graduate of Maquoketa Valley Senior High School, Jenna Reeves attends Iowa State University.

Fred W. Woodward Scholarship, $500:  Hannah Chin of Bettendorf High School will attend either Northwestern University or Loyola University in the fall.

Iowa College Media Association Scholarship, $500:  Katherine Bauer will graduate from Cedar Rapids Xavier High School and will attend Drake University.   

Morlan Scholarship, $1,000:  Lauren Peters graduated from Prairie City-Monroe High School and attends the University of Iowa.

The Iowa Newspaper Foundation received more than 80 applications for the nine scholarships.  These annual scholarships are one way the INF contributes to the education of young Iowans anticipating newspaper careers.

The Iowa Newspaper Foundation is grateful to the Woodward Foundation for their support of the Fred W. Woodward Scholarship. The scholarship honors the late Fred W. Woodward, longtime publisher of the Dubuque Telegraph Herald.

The INF also appreciates the support of the Shaw Newspapers board of directors for their funding of the E.K. Shaw Scholarship Endowment Fund. E. K. Shaw was the long-time publisher of the Newton Daily News. This scholarship is awarded to children of men and women who work for Iowa newspapers.

The David W. Belin Scholarship is awarded to a student attending or planning to attend the Greenlee School of Journalism and Communication at Iowa State University and is in conjunction with the Iowa Journalism Institute awards which are funded through a gift to the Iowa Newspaper Foundation by Gary Gerlach and Michael Gartner.  The late David W. Belin was a nationally-recognized lawyer and longtime business partner of Gerlach and Gartner.

Two scholarships are given in memory of the late Carter Pitts, longtime publisher of the Le Mars Daily Sentinel and the first president of the Iowa Newspaper Foundation.  The Carter Pitts/Le Mars Daily Sentinel Scholarship is funded by an annual gift from the Daily Sentinel.  The Carter Pitts Scholarship Endowment Award was set up through a gift established by members of the Pitts’ family.

The Morlan Scholarship is given in memory of Frank Morlan, a longtime Iowa newspaper owner. The student awarded will be enrolling in a two-year or four-year journalism program at an Iowa institution of higher learning or is currently enrolled at an Iowa institution of higher learning.

The Iowa Newspaper Foundation scholarship is provided through contributions from Iowa newspapers and the Pages for the 21st Century program. 

The Iowa College Media Association (ICMA) Scholarship is offered to a student attending a college or university with a membership in ICMA.

The INF will offer scholarships for students again next year.  Online application will be available to all public and private high schools in Iowa as well as college and university journalism and mass communication departments.  Look for more information on the Iowa Newspaper Association website at in September 2015.

The mission of the INF, a 501 (c)(3) non-profit corporation, is to champion and improve the quality and future of Iowa’s newspaper enterprises and the communities they serve and to raise funds to fulfill this mission.

Questions on Iowa Newspaper Foundation scholarships? Contact Jana Shepherd at or 515-422-9051.


Scholarship adINA newspapers: Click here to download a promotional ad to run in your newspaper.

      319 E. 5th Street, Des Moines, IA 50309 | Phone: 515.244.2145, Fax: 515.244.4855